3. A Burst of Sonlight

I came across Sonlight Curriculum through the internet.  If you have held a Sonlight catalog in your hands, you know what I mean when I say it’s hard to stop oneself from owning one of their core packages with all those great children’s books.  Their literature approach to education is just so unique and inspiring.   So, when I was expecting my third child, I got my two girls (ages 5 and 4)  Sonlight Core Pre-K and then, shortly after, Sonlight Core K.   I remember how we enjoyed “doing school” (= reading) with all those books while taking care of their newborn brother.   Sonlight also introduced me to such curricula as Singapore Math (w/c my third child is now using along with Math U See), A Reason for Writing (w/c my girls used for penmanship but which I replaced with Cursive First with my third child), and Sonlight Science (w/c we did not give too much notice way back then but just began enjoying these past few years).  Sonlight also gave me access to homeschoolers around the world at a time when I was at it almost on my own.

06-07 catalog

Sonlight Catalog 2006-2007

Screen Shot 2013-10-05 at 1.37.42 PM

Sonlight Catalog 2008-2009

The year after we tried the WTM approach (see post on Classical Education and WTM), we had to relocate.  At this time, our fourth child was about 6 months old and we were preparing for all the adjustment. Just to be on the safe side, I decided to order Sonlight Core 2 and have everything ready to go for “school.”  I love this about Sonlight.  You just pick up the instructor’s guide (IG) and the books and go.  And true enough, that school year proved to be another enjoyable one studying world history. We went on with Sonlight for 2 more years, doing Core 3 and Core 4 (U.S. History) done side by side with a variety of curricula/books on Canadian History.  Studying these together was a tough job but allowed us a rich schooling experience.  We were also introduced to a more natural approach to language arts as we used (for the first time) Sonlight LA w/ dictation as our focus.   During this time also, after trying so many science curricula (such as R.E.A.L. ScienceLiving Learning BooksREAL Science 4 Kids), we went back to using Sonlight Science finding it to be quite thorough, complete,  all ready to go (including experiment kits) and just plain DOABLE.  Today, we use Sonlight Science (comprehensive) with Jennie Fulbright’s Apologia Elementary (immersion approach).  We own SL Science K, 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 and have worked on the astronomy, botany, flying creatures book of Apologia.  Our oldest will be using Jay Wile’s Apologia General Science this school year and she is so excited about that.

Sonlight Catalog 2012-2013

Sonlight Catalog 2012-2013

Leave a Reply

