1. Reading, wRiting, and aRithmetic

When my oldest daughter was about to turn 4 (we had two girls at that time), I decided we should “school” more formally. The only homeschooling mom I knew then advised me to begin with math and phonics.  She directed me to Saxon Math and Sing, Spell, Read and Write (SSRW).  I purchased Saxon Math K and the combo K – Level 1 version of SSRW.  Saxon Math K is one of the best investments I’ve made in our homeschooling life.  I am using it now with my fourth child who is 4 years old.  All of them (myself included) enjoyed doing these early math lessons orally.  In a year, my oldest daughter was ready for more formal math and was reading with ease.  I don’t recall ever having to sit with her as she read instructions for any of her Grade 1 level workbooks.  Having said this though, since SSRW does not bring you up to higher levels, I decided to use Wanda Sanseri’s Spell to Write and Read (SWR) with our third since it was a more complete phonics, spelling, and writing program vs. the variety of workbooks my older girls had to use (Explode the CodeReason for Writing, Spelling Workout).

Leave a Reply

